Workplace Server: Folder Sync Tab

IMPORTANT  Projects must be shared with a specific Workplace"Workplace" describes the Workplace service in its entirety. server before they can be synced to that server. Refer to Managing Project, Folder, and File Team Shares.

Local folder syncing allows any folder accessible to your Workplace server to be synced with the Workplace service, enabling you to sync projects to the locations most convenient for you. With local folder syncing, you don't have to rearrange or move your data in order to sync it to the Workplace service.

These folders can be located anywhere on your local drive, an external drive, or a network drive. These synced local folders provide the majority of the same features and functionality as a project. In fact, a local folder that is synced becomes a project within the Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team. via the Workplace ServerWorkplace Server is a component of the Workplace service. It makes all your files accessible through Workplace while retaining local, centralized data storage so that your data is also available via your local area network (LAN). The Workplace service keeps all data on your LAN accessible internally and in sync with Workplace. device.

The Folder Sync tab allows you to sync a project to a local location, to create a new project syncing with an existing local folder, and to merge a local folder with a project.

The merge option is particularly useful if the local folder becomes disconnected from the project. Merging the two will allow them to be quickly reconnected. For instance, if you need to replace a machine that is hosting a Workplace Server instance syncing to a network volume, this merge option can be used to get Workplace Server on the replacement machine back into full operation very quickly.

Additional Considerations

How to...