Manage Devices

Manager Administrators and Team Administrators

Access the client's Workplace Online > Team > Manage Devices

This page provides all the device management options available on the Devices List. The difference is, on the Manage Devices page, those options are available for all devices for your entire team.

Of particular benefit is the ability to remotely disable and wipe devices when required. Additionally, this tab allows you to manage device approval if approval is required by the policy profile assigned to you by your administrator. Refer to Policy Profiles.

You can also track devices that have been quarantined as a result of a security incident by filtering on Quarantined Devices. If there are quarantined devices present, the grid will be filtered automatically to display quarantined devices. For more information on security incidents, please refer to Security and Ransomware Incident Detail.

If you are an administrator and device approval is required for your team, you'll receive an email when another user adds a device. You'll be able to approve or reject the device from the email, without having to log in to Workplace Online.

When devices are pending approval, the number of devices pending is shown on the Team tab as well as on the Manage Devices tab, making it easy to see when there are devices pending approval.

Depending on the current status of a device (active, disabled, recycled, or deleted), different options will be available:

DeviceA device is computing device that has access to Autotask Workplace, including both mobile devices and computers. Status   Available Actions
  Approve Reject Disable Enable Recycle Delete Wipe View Security incident
Pending ** **            
Active     *   *      
Disabled       *      
Recycled         *    
Purged              
Quarantined              

* Wipe is an additional option when you disable, recycle, or delete a device.

** Only available when device approval is required by Policy Profiles.

Device Count Restrictions

As outlined in the End UserA user is anyone with access to Workplace. LicenseA Workplace license is used to provision a member or connection so that they may access the service. Agreement, a Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. user account is intended for use by one person. Users are restricted to a maximum of three active Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud. installations, three active Workplace MobileWorkplace Mobile is the Workplace application designed specifically for the various mobile platforms, providing access to Autotask Workplace. installations, and three concurrent Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team. sessions.

Accounts that exceed these Workplace Desktop and Workplace Mobile device counts will be unable to add more devices until devices in excess of the restrictions are disabled or recycled. To do so, simply right-click a device on this list and select Disable or Recycle.

How to...

 

Forward this topic to others
Provide feedback for the Documentation team