Folder Sync Tab

Local folder syncing allows any folder on your computer to be synced with the Workplace"Workplace" describes the Workplace service in its entirety. service, enabling you to sync projects to the locations most convenient for you.

For Administrators and Super Administrators, these folders can be located anywhere on your local drive, an external drive or a network drive. These synced local folders provide all the same features and functionality as a project. In fact, a local folder that is synced becomes a project within the Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team..

NOTE  If your team has an Unlimited Workplace plan for Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud., you will not be able to sync to external or network drives. Workplace ServerWorkplace Server is a component of the Workplace service. It makes all your files accessible through Workplace while retaining local, centralized data storage so that your data is also available via your local area network (LAN). The Workplace service keeps all data on your LAN accessible internally and in sync with Workplace. is required for this functionality.

IMPORTANT  In order to ensure successful folder sync, please review File Types That Should Not Be Synced to Workplace. You must be very careful to not use a folder structure that contains file types that should not be synced, e.g. the OS-created Documents folder within your Windows user profile.

IMPORTANT  If you wish to sync to a network drive, be sure to select the folder using the Network section of your file browser. DO NOT use a mapped drive!

The Folder Sync tab also allows you to merge a local folder with a project.

This option is particularly useful if the local folder becomes disconnected from the project. Merging the two will allow them to be quickly reconnected. For instance, if you need to replace a machine that is hosting a Workplace Desktop instance syncing to a network volume, this merge option can be used to get Workplace Desktop on the replacement machine back into full operation very quickly.

Additional Considerations

How to...